A Learner’s Reflection

A Learner’s Reflection

According to Jack Mezirow, “a defining condition of being human is that we have to understand the meaning of our experience,” (cited in Costa and Kallick, 2008). Prior to starting my tertiary education (back in 2010), I often viewed experiences as “they are” in its entirety, not as opportunities for learning. According to Feuerstein et al 1980) this is referred to as “episodic grasp of reality,” and is not a beneficial habit for learners or students.

From my education, especially through courses such as this one, I am now someone who needs to connect my experiences to other experiences, in order to construct meaning, create insight and explore complex learning (Costa and Kallick, 2008).. This is done through reflection. According to Tobin (2000, p. 12) “all learning is self-directed,” and “we foster our own growth when we control our learning, so some reflection is best done alone,” (Costa and Kallick, 2008).

So far, my experience with NGL has been a little wobbly. I started off intimidated by the course design and the transparency and openness of blogging. In week one, Cousins (2006) and Kligyte (2009, p. 541) defined liminal space as a messy journey, back and forth, across conceptual terrains. I still think I am in a liminal space, but am finding that I am not shifting back and forth as often as I did at the beginning of the course.

At the moment, I am focusing more on the assessment and my requirements as a student. I have decided to learn Auslan as my learning task, and am finding it a lot harder than I anticipated. I have referred back to Jarche’s (2014) Seek, Sense and Share framework, and by comparing it with my post on Learning with CLEM, it seems I have done a lot of seeking. I have sought out groups via my learning network, I have discovered tools such as sign language apps, and have consulted literature such as Auslan dictionaries, as well as resources on YouTube. However, I am struggling with making sense of sign language, and feel like I have hit a brick wall. In my PKM post, I stated that the way I make sense of learning is mostly by journaling, writing and reflecting. However, since Auslan is a practical learning task, I am finding it difficult to reflect and make sense of it. I am yearning for more face-to-face interaction, or an Auslan buddy that I can practice and reflect with. The need to reflect with others is supported by Costa and Kallick (2008) who acknowledge that reflection is enhanced when we ponder our learning with others.

In addition, I am currently brainstorming topic ideas for Assignment 2. I am also finding this difficult, as my “role as a teacher” is rather unconventional. I am a librarian within the copyright niche. Therefore, I am thinking something along the lines on how NGL influences the practice of copyright in the digital age.

References

Costa, A & Kallick, B. (2008). Learning through reflection. Viewed 21 August, 2017, from, http://www.ascd.org/publications/books/108008/chapters/Learning-Through-Reflection.aspx

Cousin, G. (2006). An introduction to threshold concepts. Planet No 17, December 2006, Retrieved 7 August, 2017, from http://www.gees.ac.uk/planet/p17/gc.pdf

Feuerstein, R., Rand, Y., Hoffman, M., & Miller, R. (1980). Instrumental enrichment: An intervention program for cognitive modifiability. Baltimore, MD: University Park Press.

Jarche, H. (2014). What is your PKM routine? Retrieved 13 August, 2017, from http://jarche.com/2014/03/what-is-your-pkm-routine/

One thought on “A Learner’s Reflection

Leave a Reply

