Threshold Concept Framework

Threshold Concept Framework

As some of you may have noticed, I have slightly fallen of the bandwagon for this course – simply because I have bitten off more than I can chew this semester. However, I am back on board! Since, everything has been chaotic and overwhelming at the moment, Kligyte’s (2009) Threshold Concept Framework really resonated with me. Although I agree with Kligyte (2009, p. 540) that “networked learning is a type of portal that leads to a new ontological destination and, if fully understood and embraced, transforms the way learning is understood,” I can also relate to the academics within the case study, and their unwillingness to adopt technologies in their teaching.

To be truthful, I was slightly intimidated by this course, simply because it did not comply with the conventional format and familiarity of other USQ courses that I have previously studied. In some ways, as a student, I am very much like the unwilling academics. However at the same time, especially as a learner and educator, I understand and appreciate the transformative power of networked learning that is highlighted by Kligyte (2009).

Since, I am relatively new to NGL, I am still in a liminal space. According to Cousins (2006) this “involves messy journeys back, forth and across conceptual terrain.” Kligyte (2009, p. 541) states that “networked learning is most often not fully understood at the starting point of the journey,” and that learners often spend time “in a liminal space shifting back and forth.” This perfectly sums up my current situation. I feel like I have just begun scraping the surface of networked learning, and like Kligyte’s (2009) comment on novices, I am unintentionally focusing on external features of technologies, rather than the larger subject.

However, the integrated aspect of the Threshold Concept Framework resonated with me in a more familiar way. Kligyte (2009, p. 541) explains this as “the delineation between personal and professional identity…and all of a sudden the distributed world of information appears to be coherently connected and makes sense.” As a librarian and educator, I do often have random moments where “the distributed world of information” suddenly makes sense (Kligyte, 2009, p. 541). I feel like I am in very different liminal spaces as a learner, student and teacher. However, I know I am heading towards a more discursive space where I will be able to build upon my network literacy skills and incorporate enhanced and extended use of language into my professional life (Kligyte, 2009). By undertaking this course, I am also heading towards an irreversible experience where I will develop new practices and relationships that will be transformative to my learning and teaching – and as mentioned by Kligyte (2009), this cannot be “unlearned.”

References

Cousin, G. (2006). An introduction to threshold concepts. Planet No 17, December 2006, Retrieved 7 August, 2017, from http://www.gees.ac.uk/planet/p17/gc.pdf

Kligyte, G. (2009). Threshold concept: A lens for examining networked learning. Paper presented at ASCILITE 2009, Auckland, New Zealand. Retrieved from http://www.ascilite.org/conferences/auckland09/procs/kligyte-poster.pdf

Leave a Reply

